hummus

hummus and pita

This is one of my husband’s great comfort foods–he’ll happily scoop this dip up with extra thick pita, possibly triggering all sorts of childhood memories. When I married my husband, one of the first things I did was go up to his mother and ask her for the recipes of all his favorite foods. She happily obliged and started off by teaching me how to make hummus, something she learned from HER mother-in-law. It trips me out to think that this family recipe passed from its Jewish Iraqi roots to my Ashkenazi Jewish mother in law, to Korean American me. I’m honored.

This is “the real stuff,” as I know it, and as I have been taught. No adulterations: no black bean hummus or artichoke hummus or black eyed pea hummus or habanero hummus. I’ve made some changes over the years: I’ve increased the lemon and the cumin, and upped the garlic. But the main ingredients that make up a classic hummus are all there.

I’ve come to love this snack (I have always liked it, but now I too find it a happy snack, especially when paired with chicken schnitzel). And I’ve even learned to say it correctly: it’s hummus, with a gutteral “ch” and a “u” like “ooo.” “chooomooos.”

Recipe follows after the jump:


HUMMUS

Ingredients:
1 can of cooked garbanzo beans (with some of the liquid in the can)
2 heaping tablespoons of tahini
1 squeezed lemon (or 2-3 tablespoons lemon juice)
1 tsp cumin
1 tsp lawry’s seasoned salt (or to taste)
1 tablespoon olive oil
2-3 cloves garlic
paprika

Directions:
Combine all above ingredients (except for paprika) in a food processor. Puree. Adjust seasoning if needed (salt to taste, more lemon juice if needed). Add more garbanzo bean liquid if needed, so that hummus has texture of a paste.

Drizzle with more olive oil and sprinkle with paprika, and serve with pita.

hummus with pita, originally uploaded by c(h)ristine.

4 responses to “hummus

  1. This is exciting. I LOVE hummus but never really knew how to make it. I am going to try it this weekend.

  2. Hummus is great. You’ve got the right recipe. (I don’t put olive oil in with the beans in the food processor, just drizzle it over the top when it’s done, but that seems like a minor difference)

    A Lebanese trick (maybe Palestinians do this too) – reserve a few whole chickpeas for garnish…

    I realized that the two Israelis I have cared most for in my life are/were both half Iraqi, half Ashkenazi. (One of them is dead, hence the past tense). I thought it was an unusual combination, but maybe not so much. Good hummus!

  3. Pingback: Brunch « Muffin Top

Leave a Reply

