Mayonnaise lover: Garlic Aioli

aioli in progress

There are those who hate mayonnaise. Absolutely HATE it–will explicitly state to a sandwich maker, “NO MAYONNAISE!!!” (yes, with the three exclamation marks). In fact, maybe a few of you have stopped reading the article at the mere mention of mayonnaise.

A friend of mine once refused to eat scrambled eggs on a backpacking trip because instead of butter, I used mayonnaise in the pan (note to backpackers: those packets of mayonnaise are GREAT–since mayonnaise is really lots of oil, it makes for a great butter/oil substitute in cooking). By then, if she hadn’t been told there was mayonnaise in the food, she would not have known–it was long past being mayonnaise and had broken down to its essential oil. But you see, that’s how much she hates mayonnaise. I told my husband, “Keep the mayonnaise hush hush in the future!”

And then there are those who cannot imagine a sandwich without that creamy dressing. A sandwich without mayonnaise–is just…DRY. Hand me a sandwich without mayonnaise and I will just not eat it. If you put mustard (sweet or French’s) in it, that’s ok–but my palate will still be missing the mayonnaise.

I like Miracle Whip (yes, I count that as “mayonnaise), Best Foods Sandwich Spread (with the relish! Relish is another key ingredient in all my sandwiches), Hellman’s/Best Food mayonnaise, and most recently, I’ve fallen in love with this wonderful French garlic aioli that comes in a small plastic tub. The name of this aioli escapes me and of course, I can’t look at the container because–well, you’ll know when you read on.

So when I opened my refrigerator the other day, determined to make myself a sandwich for lunch, you can only imagine my dismay when I realized that I had NO mayonnaise in the fridge.

What to do what to do? I wanted to eat without delay, but didn’t have time to go out and fetch a jar of mayonnaise (or what I REALLY wanted: a jar of beloved garlic aioli) from the store.

And by now, you know that a sandwich isn’t a sandwich to me, without some mayonnaise.

So I decided to make myself some aioli. Yes I would.

Ah–break the eggs, peel the garlic! And most fun of all: drizzling in the olive oil…

aioli in progress

And watching the alchemy occur–from mixed eggs that looked ready to scramble in a pan into a light whipped…mayonnaise. It’s that simple and miraculous. Really!

homemade garlic aioli

And in the end, just a few minutes later? I made my sandwich. Happiness! Even better: I got to EAT it. Joy!

sandwich made with garlic aioli

Recipe follows after the jump…

aioli beginning!

Garlic Aioli (Garlic Mayonnaise)

Ingredients
1 egg
1 egg yolk
1 tablespoon water
3-6 garlic cloves (to taste)
1-1/2 cups olive oil
Juice of 1/2 lemon

Instructions
Place the whole egg and the egg yolk in a blender or food processor and combine. Add the water and garlic and puree for 30 seconds. With the motor running, add the olive oil a few drops at a time at the beginning, then gradually in a thin stream. Add the lemon juice and pulse to combine. The mixture should now be a light, garlicky mayonnaise.

13 responses to “Mayonnaise lover: Garlic Aioli

  1. Wow, that seems so decadent. And yet, why not? I love mayonnaise, thanks to my mom, and certain foods just aren’t the same without it (like artichokes). I love it that you made it not for a fancy dinner party, but for yourself.

  2. I’ll fess up. I’m a mayonnaise hater. I’ll tell the sandwich shops, NO MAYONNAISE!!! three times, and stare at the sandwich maker to ensure that her hand doesn’t reach for the knife in that jar. And if I get a sandwich with mayonnaise on it, I’ll take a knife and scrape it off the bread, and I’ll take a napkin and wipe it off the offending piece of lettuce. Or I’ll just throw it away.

    But freshly made mayonnaise is a different thing. It’s very rare to encounter it in a sandwich joint, but the aioli you get with fries in nicer restaurants is a special treat. I’ll eat a tiny little dab of it.

  3. I abso don’t like mayo…this is lovely!! Thank you. Love yr blog . ..:0)

  4. Ooooh, I’m a mayonnaise lover. And I’m so grateful it’s one of the things that is NOT forbidden on my diet, er, way of eating.

  5. There’s a place up the street from me that sells pomme frites–replete with as much garlic aioli as you can handle. And it’s open till 4 a.m. So, let’s see, garlic + fried + salty = great paper cups of greasy deliciousness.

    Thanks for the recipe–I plan on trying it soon. I’ve never made mayo (of any sort) before!

  6. That looks delicious. I tried a similar experiment recently. I was trying to make a garlic mayo/aioli I had discovered at a local Lebanese restaurant. Same ingredients except no egg. It was very hard to get it to emulsify, but it did work.

  7. i love a good aioli on a blt with summer heirloom tomatoes and good gooooooood fresh bread.

    yum!

  8. i’m a myonnaise hater but when i’m alone at home i’m always concious of eating it…………………………… well that’s me i like to eat mayonnaise but i can’t ,even if my friends have a birthday party and they give me a hambuger w/ lots and lots of mayonnaise i will just say i’ll pass……… then they’re going ask ”hey xxx why didn’t you eat the burger ” and i’ll’have to lie and” say because i on a diet.”But when i grow up get married i’ll want beautiful girl than thin and really eat salads, sandwiches andof course lots of mayonnaise………………………………..i’m still 12 years old and i’m fat ……………………………………..thank you and i hope ican eat mayo in the future .
    ^_^

  9. Holey yumoley!!! That looks awesome!!!

  10. I have been craving home-made aioli. Takes like heaven!

  11. Pingback: A Simple fish supper...... | MyEasyCooking

  12. DOES ANYONE HAVE A RECIPE WITHOUT THE EGG?. I DON’T KNOW HOW LONG IT WILL KEEP WITH THE RAW EGG IN IT BUT LOVE THE TASTE. LOOKING FOR AN EASY RECIPE. THANKS

Leave a Reply

