Quick and Easy Meal: Sriracha Sloppy Joes

Sriracha Sloppy joes

The idea of making sloppy joes intrigued me, because the last time I had sloppy joes, I was nibbling them off a lunch tray in the multipurpose room at school. At elementary school. And we never ate them. Or at least, I never did. And neither did my friends. They were gloppy and disgusting.

But you can’t judge a dish when you only know it in the context of the school cafeteria.

And I thought I’d give it another try as an adult, especially since I figured I could whip this up pretty quickly as a new mom. Now I know one of the rules is “no chopping,” but you could skip the onions if you hate them–or you can pick up a package of pre-chopped onions from trader joes. Or you can put your kid in a high chair for about 5 minutes while you chop the onions and put garlic through a garlic press. (Or if you were really desperate like me–yes you can reach for the garlic powder–because when you’ve got a small baby, you can’t sweat the little things like fresh garlic versus powder. You’ve gotta figure out how to make food and EAT).

I looked up a few sloppy joe recipes, with the intention of finding one that was simple and quick. And then I decided to give it an extra kick with not the more traditional tabasco, but Sriracha. It was tremendous. Hope you enjoy. Recipe after the jump!

Sriracha Sloppy joes

SRIRACHA SLOPPY JOES

Ingredients:
2 Tablespoons Butter or olive oil
1 pound Ground Beef
1 whole medium Onion, Diced
2 cloves Garlic, Minced
1-1/2 cup Ketchup
1 cup Water
2 Tablespoons Brown Sugar
1 Tablespoon Chili Powder
1 teaspoon Dry Mustard
1/2 teaspoon Red Pepper Flakes
Worcestershire Sauce, To Taste (a few shakes)
2 Tablespoons Tomato Paste
about 2 Tablespoons (or to taste) Sriracha sauce
Salt To Taste
Freshly Ground Black Pepper, To Taste
Burger Buns

Directions:
Add butter (or olive oil) to a large skillet or dutch oven over medium high heat. Add ground beef and cook until brown. Drain most of the fat and discard.

Add onions and garlic (or garlic powder). Cook for a few minutes, or until onions begin to get soft.

Add ketchup, brown sugar, chili pepper, dry mustard, and water. Stir and simmer for 15 minutes, adding salt and pepper to taste. Also add tomato paste, Worcestershire, and Sriracha. Taste your food and add seasonings as you desire (this is when I added another squirt of Sriracha).

So if you’re not desperate for time, you could put some butter on your buns and brown them in a skillet. I did not. I put them in the toaster oven for a couple minutes until they “crisped up” a touch. Or you don’t even have to do this. No big deal. Spoon the meat mixture over the rolls, and sprinkle with some pre-grated cheese (or a slice of cheese) if you so prefer.

One response to “Quick and Easy Meal: Sriracha Sloppy Joes

  1. I love this idea! I secretly like sloppy joes. We make one with hot peppers and bourbon that is really good.

Leave a Reply

