Hello Kitty Pop-Tarts


hello kitty meow-berry poptart
Originally uploaded by c(h)ristine.

I saw this at a grocery store while away at a writing retreat. What on earth…? I snapped a picture–and then my friends urged me to BUY some. “How could you not fancy a taste?” they asked. So I bought a box.

What do Hello Kitty Pop-Tarts made of “meow-berries” taste like? I took a bite. The answer: they taste like SUGAR. (I guess that’s what meow-berries are, sugar).

And now I am reading Michael Pollan’s The Omnivore’s Dilemma, and I am more scared than ever of anything that has to do with sugar and corn (especially high fructose corn syrup). I keep thinking that one bite of pop-tart will be the DEATH of me!

2 responses to “Hello Kitty Pop-Tarts

  1. As a girl who grew up on fish sticks and spam, I have to say I think a *little* of the bad stuff is necessary, if only to inoculate yourself. Oh sure, I eat organic food NOW, but believe me, my brother and I got all the high fructose corn syrup fixin’s: juice, soda, you name it.

    Strangely, we’re both careful food-watchers now. I mean, I actually read labels.

    I got through about 2/3 of a Hello Kitty pop tart. It’s MUCH sweeter than a regular pop tart, even the frosted kind!

  2. Oh, and I wanted to read Omnivore’s Dilemma as well! Please let me know how you like it – I liked what I read of Fast Food Nation, though it freaked me out (oh yeah, we also grew up loving McDonald’s).

Leave a Reply

