The ReadEatCook Cookbook Club and Testing Academy!

Okay, I’ve been giving this a bit of a think and I’d really like to test this out with readers of this and my other food blogs – I’m starting The ReadCookEat Cookbook Book Club and Testing Academy – and you’re invited! The premise is this – we select one cookbook (or other foodie book) a month, each choose a different (or the same, doesnt’ really matter) recipe to make from it, photograph the results, discuss whether or not we thought it was worth the time/effort/expense and then share our results.

I’m not going to limit this to cookbooks but if there is any special equipment that helps prepare the dishes in question that can be part of our discussion. Perhaps if the book isn’t a cookbook but more a foodie type book we can suggest some recipes that are inspired by whatever we’re reading. I’m hoping that over time we’ll come up with a compendium of reviewed books so that readers will know what’s worth buying, what’s not worth the hype and what to completely avoid at all costs. I’d be completely open to suggestions for the month of August to start so either comment away or email me with what you think!

16 responses to “The ReadEatCook Cookbook Club and Testing Academy!

  1. this could be VERY fun.

  2. I thought so too!!!!
    So, whaddya think? Garlic and Sapphires? Sunday Suppers at Lucques? What’s your suggestion for August? (I was going to say The Omnivore’s Dilemma but you’re already into that one…)

    Anyone else got some good ideas?

  3. I am down for whatever. I do love the garlic, though.

  4. I’m up for Garlic and Sapphires (but does it contain recipes? I must confess, I haven’t even flipped through the book yet, so high is my trust in Ruth Reichl’s writing). I would recommend Omnivore’s Dilemma, except there are NO recipes in that book at all.

    Jacques Pepin’s memoir, “The Apprentice” is a CHARMING read and it DOES contain recipes (some of which I want to make)!

    So do both of Jeffrey Steingarten’s books–he has some fair looking recipes in there.

    (And what is Sunday Suppers at Lucques?)

    Melanie: I am not sure if Garlic and Sapphires has recipes, let alone recipes with garlic…it is Ruth Reichl’s book about being a restaurant critic.

  5. What about if the book doesn’t have recipes in it, the dishes need to have a specific ingredient inspired by the title? Garlic and Sapphires could have , gee, I don’t know, garlic perhaps?๐Ÿ™‚ Omnivore’s dilemma could have animal, mineral AND vegetable? Foodie reading is so diverse!

    Sunday Suppers at Lucques is my current newest Holy Grail of cookbooks, check it out on Amazon and gaze in wonder at the loveliness…๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Omnivore’s Dilemma could challenge people to cook a meal WITHOUT corn on it, and without ANY corn by products (such as corn syrup or high fructose corn syrup), food that is GROWN LOCALLY, and if beef, beef that is grassfed, and definitely organic ingredients.

    woo!

  7. Now that’s the spirit! I’m liking that idea! keep them coming!

  8. well–that is a heckuva lot easier than what Michael Pollan imposed on himself in the last chapter–he made a meal in which he killed his own meat, foraged for his own mushrooms, and all in all, didn’t actually pay for a single item of food (it was all gathered by himself).

    but that’s a bit unrealistic a demand, and i don’t think a lot of people would participate with THOSE guidelines.๐Ÿ™‚

    I’m starting Garlic and Sapphires tonight.

  9. This project sounds like fun!

    There’s a current movement – “locavore” – somewhat related to “The Omnivore’s Dilemma”. It takes Alice Waters’ idea of supporting local farmers to the next level. Basically, you set a parameter by picking a certain adius from where you live, and you can only eat food that is grown, produced and processed within that radius. It can get very tricky!

  10. Count me in! I’m Korean so natch, alllll about garlic!

  11. okay–I started reading Garlic and Sapphires this weekend. There _are_ recipes in it.

  12. Okay, so I’m thinking that Garlic and Sapphires will be the book for August! How about we all read and post which recipes we want to tackle? I’ll post another entry highlighting this! Thanks for the feedback everyone!!!!

  13. Here is the index of recipes in “Garlic and Sapphires”:
    *Aushak
    *Roasted brussel sprouts
    *Last-minute chocolate cake
    *Nicky’s vanilla cake
    *Roast chicken with potatoes, onions, and garlic
    *Gougeres
    *Hash browns
    *Roast leg of lamb with garlic and rosemary
    *Matzo brei
    *Moules marinieres
    *New York cheesecake
    *Sort-of Thai noodles
    *Scalloped potatoes
    *Roasted rhubarb
    *Risotto Primavera
    *Spaghetti Carbonara
    *Pureed watercress

    Basically, enough to go around…and even if two people claim one recipe, it would be interesting if individual cooks decide to adapt the recipe at all, and if there are any varying results.

  14. Very amazing site! I wish I could do something as nice as you did…mary

  15. hasta la vista baby!

  16. I woke up this morning in a bad mood but after reading this post my state of mind improved.

Leave a Reply

