wonton sopapillas


wonton sopapillas
Originally uploaded by c(h)ristine.

Oh one more post before I try to give my wrists a longer break–can you tell I’m a bit obsessive compulsive about blogging and writing? Keeping me from the keyboard is torture!

I wanted to say that oftentimes, you’re left with a bunch of unused wonton or gyoza wrappers when you make dumplings. It’s rarely the case that the amount of filling you make exactly matches the number of available wrappers.

A great way to use up leftover wonton or gyoza wrappers it to make sopapillas (a mexican sweet treat)!

Fry up the leftover wonton wrappers and sprinkle with a mixture of sugar and ground cinnamon.

If you feel whimsical you can even give the wonton wrappers “shapes” by manipulating them with chopsticks while frying. In this case, I made little “farfalle bowties” with mine.🙂

2 responses to “wonton sopapillas

  1. simple and sounds so good!

    i love how you can see all the detail in the photo, the air bubbles in the fried wrappers. I can taste the crunch! Very appetizing…

  2. That really sounds good! If only th aircon was working in my place (its conked out again), then I’d consider making them! Perhaps making dumplings is a good thing for a less hot day (its the hottest day since 1955 in Toronto today…)

Leave a Reply

