E-Z Food


It’s probably going to be either amusing (or disgusting) to follow up a post on such amazing haute causine with… easy, instant, time-saver cooking! Let’s just put this in the same category as the Spam and the ramen, okay?

A few years (?) ago, Christine invited me to a Pampered Chef party at her house. I am such a sucker for those things. I cannot resist people selling me things in other peoples’ living rooms. Anyway, the party Hostess whipped up this very pretty looking edible wreath, using Pillsbury Poppin’ Fresh “dinner crescents” (ha). It had chicken and water chestnuts and broccoli and a bunch of other stuff in it. I remember thinking, THIS will impress the folks at home! Little did I know. I bought the round pizza stone, and shortly after that, I whipped up my own little concoction, calling it “chicken parmesan wreath.” (ingredients: chopped up cooked chicken, some pasta sauce and grated mozzarella cheese)

WELL. It was such a hit, and every time I make it, my kids act as if I’m Thomas Keller or something. They fall over and swoon and thank me a million times over. Their normal response to my dinners is a monotone, Dad-induced, “Thanks, Mom,” but when I pop the wreath out of the oven, they go completely berserk with happiness.

Today was my elder’s First Day of School and First Day of Crew Practice, and so I pulled out the pizza stone to give her something happy to come home to. She just called. “What’s for dinner?” “The wreath.” “OMG MOM, THANK YOU, I AM SOOOOOOOO HAPPY!”

Not haute cuisine, but if it makes them happy, it makes me happy. And it’s not so bad either.

3 responses to “E-Z Food

  1. I love Spam and ramen. And the Pillsbury doughboy’s pretty hard to beat. Hooray for the Wreath!

    ps. My brother and I used to do the same thing when our mom walked through the door with bags full of McDonald’s or Popeye’s Chicken. We’d be overjoyed. My bro even asked for Mickey D’s on his birthday.

  2. awesome, ‘possum! i am a lover of “high-low” food, just as I am a lover of “high-low” fashion. it’s impossible to eat foie gras and delicate pastries everyday (though omg, they ARE the shiznit), and there is a GREAT pleasure in the everyday, simple, fast meals! variety is the spice of life!

    i am so glad you embrace the wreath!

  3. I would LOVE to know how to make this wreath – how bout sharing a recipe??

    Christine and I are already planning a High/Low foodie tour of SFO when I get to pop over in October/November. Now THAT should be fun!🙂

Leave a Reply

