5 Things to Eat Before you Die

The foodie blogosphere is all abuzz with the BBC’s list of 50 things to eat before you die.

Over at the Traveler’s Lunchbox, the list has been trimmed to 5. Here’s mine:

1. A properly ripened Camembert de Normandie.

Epoisses is my favorite, Gruyere would be my desert island choice, and nothing is as elegant as a Vacherin Mont d’Or, but there is no sensory experience quite like enjoying a genuine AOC Camembert de Normandie.

2. November/December Chef’s Degustation menu from French Laundry with the foie gras and white truffle supplements.

Hey, I know it’s cheating, but how else could I fit caviar, white truffles and foie gras on this list? I’m limited to five, and I had to bring up French Laundry somehow. Besides, if you’re going to do it, you might as well do it right.

3. The full 13 course Chinese wedding or New Year’s banquet. See above, except it’s all about shark’s fin soup and peking duck

4. Just plucked and still warm garden tomato cultivated with love, sliced and sprinkled with flaky salt.

You can get the best tomato from the San Francisco Ferry Plaza farmer’s Market, the Santa Monica Wednesday Farmer’s Market or the Union Square Greenmarket in New York, but none of them will beat a garden tomato.

5. Pierre Herme macaron, especially the Ispahan.

Oh, the Ispahan. My bane and my delight. How Pierre Herme thought to combine lychee, raspberries and rose I have no idea, but my ideas of dessert combinations hasn’t been the same since.

What are your 5 things?

2 responses to “5 Things to Eat Before you Die

  1. FIVE things? Only FIVE things? 🙂

  2. I think I’ve failed as a gardener this summer. I’ve been forced to admit that the dry farmed tomatoes from Dirty Girl Farm at the Ferry Plaza Farmers’ Market are way better than the tomatoes in my garden this year. They actually might be the best tomatoes I’ve had in my life, ever.

    I’m turning in my rake and hoe.–>

Leave a Reply

