holiday alchemy

mrmmm vodka collins w fresh squezed lemon juice and organic maraschino cherries, originally uploaded by c(h)ristine.

It’s one of the biggest booze buying days of the year–everyone’s stocking up for the parties! My list? I bought some of the following: Lillet and Lillet Blanc, Gosling’s Black Seal Rum, and Grey Goose Vodka. Oh and big ass bottle of natural maraschino cherries (I’m addicted).

 

mrmmm maraschino cherries.  without artificial color!

What am I going to do with my purchases this holiday season?

  • Lillet Blanc is great with club soda over ice as an apertif. Or with a twist of orange. Or in a Corpse Reviver:
    3/4 oz Gin
    3/4 oz Lillet Blanc
    3/4 oz Cointreau
    3/4 oz lemon juice
    2 drops Pernod
  • I’m in love with a “Dark and Stormy” (my new discovery at a dissident chef dinner–though for many of you it may not be so new). A Dark and Stormy is Gosling’s Black Seal Rum with ginger beer in a 1:2 ratio. That’s the basic recipe, although I hear you can add a touch of lime or lemon juice. I’m so loyal to vodka and gin drinks, I’m surprised how much I like this rum-based drink. But it’s a winner.
  • If you want something different from a cosmo or lemon drop, but still want one foot in fancy martini/vodka land…try a French Martini (one of my fave drinks–my first french martini was at Balthazar in New York over five years ago). It’s vodka, chambord, and pineapple shaken together and served in a martini glass. That’s another drink I’ll be serving this season.
  • Of course I bought a ton of club soda and tonic water for the mixers like gin and tonic, etc.

Funny. I’m not making any of the drinks that bartenders hate to make: the lemon drop, cosmo, mojito, and manhattan. (btw, two of my favorite cocktails are the lemon drop and cosmo–I’m going to look closely at the bartender’s face to see if he/she grimaces when I order them).

The site I reference throughout this post is The Art of Drink, run by a bartender who cares to share his thoughts on drink.

3 responses to “holiday alchemy

  1. I love lemon drops and cosmos.

  2. and i adore dark & stormys (stormies?). any good ginger beer or ginger ale (i’m partial to jamaican ginger beer) and any good quality medium to dark rum (i’m partial to pusser’s, cruzan blackstrap rum or myer’s dark rum) will do. i used to drink only martinis (or vodka tonics if martini glasses were going to be hazardous), but then i had GOOD rum while at my internship, and later in the virgin islands–and i was sold. in fact, i think i’ll make a dark & stormy right now…

Leave a Reply

