Food Meme

food.jpgDid we already do this one? I don’t think I did. And I saw it over on FeedYourLoves and felt like doing it. Here goes!

1. If you were stuck on an island and could only eat one cuisine (e.g., French, Italian, etc.) for the rest of your life, what would it be? Why?

That is a very difficult question, but I guess ultimately I would say Japanese.

2. What is the most unusual food you’ve eaten?

When I was in Mexico, I took a teeny tiny bite of fried grasshoppers.

3. What is the most unusual food you’ve eaten and liked?

When I was little, everyone thought I was totally freaky for liking eel (unagi). But now everyone likes it.

4. What foods will you avoid eating (either because of a dietary choice or allergies or just plain don’t like)?

Bananas bananas bananas. (just don’t like) Brussel sprouts. Beets. Anything licorice or anise tasting, including FENNEL. Except the fennel that Christine tricked me into eating at Pearl.

5. Do you cook (and by that, I mean prepare a meal that you’d serve to friends)?

Yes. But something about making dinners 5-6 nights a week for a bunch of oppositionally picky people has taken the wind out of my cooking sails. Maybe one day I will really enjoy it again, when I can serve meals that Certain People don’t push around with their forks and say, “Do I HAVE to eat this?!”

6. If yes, what is your favorite dish to prepare to impress someone?

Hm. That is a good question. I know that my Thanksgiving feasts have been fairly impressive, just on a yummy comfort level. Sweet potato casserole with bourbon and pecans, green beans with lemon butter and pecans, chicken-apple sausage stuffing, pecan pie. LOTS of pecans.

7. When you go to a restaurant, what’s your ordering strategy/preference?

I have no idea what this question means. My general approach is one of mass confusion and indecision. I always try to order last, after everyone else. My father’s strategy, which I loved and admired, was that he would poll everyone at the table (even up to 20 people), instantly memorize it, and then recite the whole thing for the server.

8. Have you ever returned a dish or wine to the kitchen at a restaurant? Why?

No, I never have. I am the self-effacing, suck it up and don’t complain kind of diner. If it’s a cheap restaurant and it’s bad, I figure I get what I’m paying for (not much). If it’s an expensive restaurant, I figure I don’t know enough to realize that the food is what it’s supposed to be like, and if I don’t like it, too bad.
9. How many cookbooks do you own?

About 20. But I only use a small handful: Cover and Bake, and the original Moosewood. I also use quite a bit of Epicurious.

10. What is one food that you wouldn’t want to live without?

Cheese. And rice. (whoops)

Now I tag all the Muffin Top contributors, and all of our readers.

6 responses to “Food Meme

  1. Hey Susan–fab meme! I started doing the meme, and then realized it was really hard for me to do in my current state (can’t remember my unsual food, favorite dish to prepare, cookbooks)–so I have to be excused–but I loved this!

  2. I’ve been reading this site for a while, and enjoying it with no comment, but this one got me going. Fun!!

    1. If you were stuck on an island and could only eat one cuisine (e.g., French, Italian, etc.) for the rest of your life, what would it be? Why?

    Creole. Because it means home. Because it’s sophisticated and earthy all at once.

    2. What is the most unusual food you’ve eaten?

    My grandmother’s turtle stew. It made her whole house smell – a milder version of the smell of old garbage – when she cooked it.

    3. What is the most unusual food you’ve eaten and liked?

    My grandmother’s turtle stew.

    4. What foods will you avoid eating (either because of a dietary choice or allergies or just plain don’t like)?

    I’m not allergic to anything, and I eat just about anything that’s put in front of me. Except Velveeta. No, I won’t eat Velveeta.

    5. Do you cook (and by that, I mean prepare a meal that you’d serve to friends)?

    I love to cook. I love to feed people. I truly enjoy a table surrounded by friends eating what I’ve cooked.

    6. If yes, what is your favorite dish to prepare to impress someone?

    Another hard one. I have this brownie recipe that everyone loves but is so easy it’s ridiculous. So it impresses them, but not me. I like making layer cakes; they tend to impress. Gumbo usually gets people oohing and ahhing. Stuffed mirliton, too. Pretty much anything Creole, actually. My favorite “let me see if I can knock their socks off” meal featured crawfish etouffe. For dessert I made a white genoise 3-layer cake flavored with cointreau and iced with orange mousseline with sliced strawberries between the layers. That was a fun one . . . .

    7. When you go to a restaurant, what’s your ordering strategy/preference?

    Try something I haven’t had before.

    8. Have you ever returned a dish or wine to the kitchen at a restaurant? Why?

    I returned a bottle of wine once because it was clearly off. But I think something would have to be really bad – as in spoiled or somehow inedible — before I’d send it back.

    9. How many cookbooks do you own?

    54

    10. What is one food that you wouldn’t want to live without?

    White rice.

  3. Julie I’d go for dinner at your house anytime! I looove Creole food.

  4. Julie – I loved reading this!! I’m interested in the turtle stew. Is it anything like turtle soup? (I’ve had that in New Orleans and loved it)

    What’s a mirliton and what do you stuff it with?

  5. Susan, I ‘m not really sure whether the turtle soup and turtle stew are the same. I have no idea how my grandmother made hers. It wasn’t a recipe that my mom picked up!

    As for the mirliton, here in California they’re called chayote squash. (I’d never really seen them back East outside of New Orleans. I remember that the first time I saw them in a California grocery store under a sign that said “chayote” I almost cried I was so happy!) You stuff them with the chopped insides, shrimp, ham, bread crumbs and lots of seasoning.

  6. mirliton is a vegetable?! I thought it was some kind of small animal or fish, or even a bird. Ha!

Leave a Reply

