Daily Archives: February 21, 2007

The Giant, Enormous, Mega Chocolate Cake

icing2.jpg

Yesterday was my husband’s birthday. He was flying cross country and from the airport, he said he really wanted a chocolate cake. Christine very helpfully happened to email me several chocolate cake recipes while I was standing in the grocery store, and when I phoned her, she advised me on what kind of chocolate to buy.

The recipe (below the break) was for a double-layer cake but with ten inch pans. We only had nine inch pans, so it turned into a triple layer cake. He also said he wanted chocolate frosting, not whipped cream (which I think would have tasted a lot better) so we used (don’t kill me!) canned frosting because we were late on time, the girls were on their own, and I had to rush to the airport to pick him up.

The photo shoot cracked me up because all I could think of were Christine’s gorgeously composed photos with beautiful lighting, plating, backgrounds. And Connie’s impeccably gourmet ingredients.

I did say that I was the low-brow, downhome member of this blog! So here are the results. I have to say that it was delicious and crazy and over the top. The cake looked like a cartoon cake, or like the cake at Minnie Mouse’s house in Toontown at Disneyland. It was a surreal, enormous, wild cake. We all pigged out and were very happy.

candles2.jpg
Continue reading