lunch for one: pasta with tomatoes, pine nuts and basil

angel hair pasta with tomatoes, pine nuts and basil

I made myself lunch today. I thought about making a sandwich or grabbing some leftovers out of the fridge or a hunk of cheese and bread (or ahem, just eating chips and sour cream or some other crap), as I often do when I am home by myself, during lunchtime.

But–I just didn’t feel like making myself another sandwich or eating tidbits. And so I found myself wanting, meandering around the kitchen, wanting something a little more special, but feeling way too lazy to venture out for a meal (even more intimidating is eating alone in a restaurant for lunch).

Instead, I made myself a hot meal from scratch. I don’t know what made me do that–maybe it was the beautiful blue sky that made me feel a bit limitless…or the pile of overripe tomatoes in the kitchen that made me feel a bit pragmatic and want to use them…or perhaps I was just sick of leftovers and tidbits for lunch.

In any case, I eyed the ingredients on hand and decided, “I have enough ingredients to pull this off.”

I had fresh basil in my garden, tomatoes, garlic, pine nuts (a bit of excess from my pesto ingredient list), olive oil, and a box of angel hair pasta.

That’s all I really needed. That’s all you really need to make this dish and sit yourself down to a highly civilized and delicious lunch. That’s all you really need to treat yourself.

Why don’t I make meals for one more often? It’s a hassle, I know–but totally worth it!

The dish was ready within 15 minutes (including chopping and prepping). And the result? Simple, delicious, and fully reminiscent of the summer season–and a great treat for yourself. (btw, you can make this dish for quite a few more people, if you so desire).

Recipe follows after the jump…

making lunch

Pasta with tomatoes, pine nuts and basil (serves 2)

Ingredients
1/8 cup olive oil
1/4 cup pine nuts
1 garlic clove, minced
2 large tomatoes, seeded and chopped
1/4 cup chopped fresh basil (a large handful is what I’d call it)
2 teaspoons chopped fresh oregano or 1/2 teaspoon dried, crumbled
Salt and pepper
4 ounces angel hair pasta, freshly cooked
grated parmesan cheese (optional)

Directions
Put pasta in boiling salted water

Heat oil in a heavy medium skillet over medium-high heat. Add pine nuts and garlic and saute until light brown. Then stir in the tomatoes, basil, and oregano for just a little bit, until they’re heated through. Add salt and pepper to taste.

Pour the mixture over the pasta and toss…and sprinkle with the parmesan cheese.

7 responses to “lunch for one: pasta with tomatoes, pine nuts and basil

  1. I make something similar quite often for lunch as we often seem to have left over pasta in the fridge. So quick and simple and just bursting full of summer goodness.

  2. Christine, you’re right on.

    Cooking for yourself feels good – especially when it turns out so deliciously. Savor every bite!

  3. This looks and sounds delicious. I have some tomatoes, fresh basil and Parm Reg that need using!🙂

  4. it’s the best thing about summer! if you’ve got tomatoes and basil, you’re so set!

  5. Helen: yes it is so simple and a great way to celebrate summer.🙂

    Karen: I don’t know why I don’t cook for just myself more often, really!

    Violeta: hope it was delicious–that is definitely a fail safe ingredient combination.

    kate: oh yes–and cheese makes it better!

  6. I have been looking through the blog tonight, and wow, this looks so yummy. I can se eating this out on the back porch on a weekend…. MMMMM

  7. Pingback: The FoodieView Weekly Meal Plan » Meal Plan for Oct 11-17

Leave a Reply

