the nth attempt

making kubba batata

I’m still trying to make a decent kubba batata or kibbeh batata…kubba/kibbe made with a potato shell. The kubba I remember and love had a shell that was savory but very light, unlike the more rustic and “chewier” bulgur based shells.

Oh, and of course, I have a long lasting love affair with potatoes. There are very few, if any, dishes made of potato that I dislike.

I constructed the kubba into round flat patties–the outside being potato, the inside with normal kubba filling. Half of the batch was made with a pure (cooked) potato shell…and half the batch was made with a mixture of cooked potatoes and rice, mashed together. Assembled, before frying, they looked delicious and oh so delectable.

kubba batata in progress

But alas! Disaster struck once the kubba went into the hot oil.

I’m not one to only advertise culinary success–I think that tragedy is only part of the cooking experience, and always entertaining. After all, without unfulfilled desire/tragedy/disaster, the story gets pretty boring and insignificant.

So–revel in my potato kubba tragedy:

disaster

Bleah.

At this point, I’m convinced that the shell must contain egg, even though my husband says he’s never seen his mother include egg as an ingredient. He never actually saw her construct kubba, so I have my doubts. I’ll be sure to use egg next time. I’m desperate to find a potato kubba recipe, or at least know what ingredients the shell might contain. Cooked, mashed potato…egg…flour?

6 responses to “the nth attempt

  1. http://www.recipezaar.com/97217

    This link does suggest eggs feature in the dough….

  2. Kate: you are an angel! Thank you so much for the link (why oh why could I not find that recipe on google?). You’re going to make me and my family so happy (my mother-in-law passed away, and I am desperately trying to make this). I am going to try potato kubba again, and if it turns out well, I wish I could send you some as a thank you.

  3. You can add cornstarch or breadcrumbs and one egg to the mashed potato. This will make it hold better.
    Best of luck.

  4. Hi Kay

    Thank you so much! I did end up making a successful batch of potato kubba (results blogged here on Muffin Top)…but I like your suggestions, too. It’s not always easy to find fine grade bulghur, and I can imagine substituting the breadcrumbs with matzo meal during passover (if you allow yourself to eat potatoes during passover, that is).

    Annnnd–I checked out your website–that cookbook looks great. I wish I had found it sooner.

  5. Hi,
    yea. You should add eggs or you can mix the potatoes with bulgar. Soak it in water and then use it. Or you could simply use a potatoes pancake recipe and then use the regular kebbi filling. I use it all the times when I have extra minced meat.

  6. I just made these for Christmas brunch. And they came out brilliant. The recipe I used is a variant of the one found on page 89, in THE IRAQI COOKBOOK, by Lamees Ibrahim. I found my first attempt (after Midnight Mass) at frying disastrous: oil not hot enough, and too shallow. This morning, after Morning Mass, I took the patties out of the fridge, uncovered them, and rolled them gently in all purpose flour, and then filled a pot with deeper oil, got it rather hot, and used a wired basket to immerse them and retrieve them. They fry super fast. You must watch them. But fried a baker’s dozen in a matter of minutes, and they all disappeared into waiting tummies about as quickly.

Leave a Reply

