Jacques Pepin’s Caramelized Apple Granola Timbale

caramelized apple granola timbale

I love Jacques Pepin. LOVE HIM. Loved him with his daughter Claudine (“Claudine, you are–you are chopping eet wrong…why are you chopping eet so slowww…Bon Appetit!”)…loved him with Julia (their rapport was amazing and made me feel like a totally delighted and privileged eavesdropper)…and love him on “Fast Food My Way.” (quick cooking! but oh so delicious!).  I love him for how he shares his knowledge on technique with his viewers (he doesn’t just take apart a kitchen, he guides us through the steps–and he always shares a tip or two on each of his shows).  I love his accent and his charm!

So anyway–he’s on my TiVO and I watch him when I’m feeling like a bit of comfort.

A few months ago, I saw him make caramelized apple granola timbales on television. Which was really caramelized apples on little toast circles!  And I HAD to make them.

At the time I didn’t realize he had a cookbook out, cataloguing all the recipes on the “Fast Food My Way” show–and so I made the timbales by piecing together the steps shown on the show. They look complicated, but they are easy to make, and so delicious.  I could imagine having these for breakfast.  And impressing a house guest or two in the future.

Because I was making these on spur of the moment, I didn’t have granola on hand.  I used cereal and nuts and currants instead.  Decent substitute (even though the cereal texture wasn’t perfect), but I’m going to make it with granola, go forward.

After making these timbales, I went out and bought the cookbook.

Recipe follows after the jump…

caramelized apple granola timbales, fresh out of the oven

You put sugar and a little bit of water in a saute pan…until it turns brown (don’t shake it until it turns brown at the edges, at which point, shake it a bit). Put chopped apples into the caramel (you should be (quickly!) peeling and chopping a couple apples while the sugar caramelizes)…then add a couple pats of butter.

Cover and let cook on medium for a few minutes.

In the interim (again), preheat oven to 400F, and take little ramekins and use them to as “cookie cutters” to cut out circles from bread.

Add granola (in my case I didn’t have granola so I added chopped pecans, currants, and some cereal) to the apple mixture.

Pack the apple mixture into buttered ramekins. Then top with the bread. Then butter the top of the bread. Sprinkle with sugar.

Stick in oven for 8-10 minutes!

mrmmm!

let cool and then run a knife around the edge, hold a plate to the ramekin, turn upside down and tap…releasing the apple mixture.

Oh, and top with ice cream or in my case sour cream.🙂

One response to “Jacques Pepin’s Caramelized Apple Granola Timbale

  1. This sounds delicious and I’m going to make them this week. Am probably going to buy his book, too!

Leave a Reply

