Gyoza!!

IMG_9711We are blessed to have an amazing and awesome houseguest who is staying with us for several weeks. Hooray! It is a great thing to have someone who likes to cook, living with us and cooking in our kitchen! Last night she introduced us to the joy of gyoza, aka potstickers. This is something I would NEVER have attempted on my own, but she demystified the process and showed us how very fun and easy (and delicious) they could be.

There were no measurements or written recipe, so I just soaked up this info while watching:

  • 1 lb ground turkey
  • 1 lb shrimp, peeled and deveined and chopped up (we used the easy-peasy frozen kind)
  • chopped up can of water chestnuts
  • chopped up green onions (3-4??)
  • little bit of sesame oil
  • minced garlic
  • minced ginger
  • little bit soy sauce?
  • wonton wrappers

Mix up all ingredients.  Put teaspoon? of mixture in half of wonton wrapper (they’re round). Seal with water and make a little pocket. Line up on tray. When you have a few dozen, put a little bit of oil in bottom of nonstick pan. Add gyoza and cook until they are browned on the bottom. Add a little bit of water and cover to steam cook the rest of the way. Probably takes about 5-8 minutes per batch. Eat. ENJOY!

4 responses to “Gyoza!!

  1. Yum. I just had potstickers a couple of days ago. Don’t normally have them, they were awesome. This recipe makes me want to make them myself. Yummy. Thanks for posting this!

  2. oooh. I wanna try this recipe mos’ def! way better than the preservative-packed dough nuggets from your grocers’ freezer!

  3. Those look absolutely delicious! I just LOVE gyoza!

  4. Each family has “their way” of folding potstickers, and their way is the right way. I mimic the way my mother folds her potstickers. One time the MIL came to visit and decided to make potstickers. We were all gathered in the kitchen to help fold. I proceeded with my way of folding, which of course I think is way better than my husband’s family’s way — there’s were so UGLY!! the ones my parents make are always neat and bonnet-like, very lovely — when the MIL complained that I was folding my potstickers “all wrong.” She all but forced me to refold them HER way. Anyway. So yeah. Just sharing.

Leave a Reply

