pumpkin rocks

pumpkin rocks, originally uploaded by c(h)ristine.

Despite the name of this cookie, every bite of these very soft and moist “rocks” takes you to a cozy place infused with warm spices and the sweet flavor of pumpkin. If you want something that reminds you of autumn, or want something to do with the remaining Thanksgiving cans of pumpkin in your pantry, or love pumpkin and small bites, these cookies are just really perfect.

You may think I’m on a pumpkin kick. I sort of am (witness my pumpkin muffin recipe from last month). Pumpkin lends a savory edge to desserts, and I welcome that balance this time of year, when I’m staring out the windows of a storm, or bundling up in the cold. While I have an insatiable sweet tooth and am known for my chocolate cravings, sometimes I like a dessert that is less butter and sugar and more…well, savory. (sorry, lack of words there).

pumpkin rocks

These cookies are supposed to be made with a glaze, but I omit the glaze; they are perfect on their own. The other thing I love is that these cookies are super easy to make. (I never make this cookie with chocolate chips, but I list that as an alternative because lots of people love a chocolate and pumpkin pairing–I prefer the raisin pairing). Based on the recipe in the Maida Heatter Book of Great Cookies, I’ve upped the spice content quite a bit to what you see here.

Recipe follows after the jump…

Pumpkin Rocks
2 1/2 cups sifted flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
2 tsp cinnamon
1 1/2 tsp nutmeg
1/2 tsp ginger
1/2 tsp powdered cloves
1/2 tsp allspice
1 stick butter
1 c granulated sugar
1/2 c dark brown sugar, packed
2 eggs
2 c pumpkin, canned okay (1-15 oz can)
1 c raisins or chocolate chips
2 c walnuts, broken into medium-sized pieces

Makes 48 large cookies
Preheat to 375 degrees
Line cookie sheets with parchment or silpat liners

Sift flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and spices.
In large bowl cream butter. Beat in both sugars. Add eggs. Beat in pumpkin
(curdled okay).
Add dry ingreds on low speed, gradually, only until thoroughly mixed. Stir
in raisins/choc chips and walnuts.

Use rounded tablespoon of dough for each cookie, and place 1 – 1/2 β€œ apart
on sheet.
Bake about 18 mins, until lightly browned and spring back if gently pressed
with a fingertip.

6 responses to “pumpkin rocks

  1. These look amazing!

  2. ohh i need it some pumpkin recepies tnx soo much

  3. I just made these and indeed, they rock! Thanks…

  4. I’m glad you liked them! I’m thinking about mixing up the add-ins. For instance, you can make this a truly Thanksgiving themed dessert by adding dried cranberries instead of raisins.

  5. Are you kidding? Why is this on the recipe for Pumpkin Rock Cookies I just pulled up???
    YM

  6. Hannah: to what are you referring?

Leave a comment