Dduk bok gi (or the ever boring sounding “stir-fried rice cake with vegetables”)

dduk-bok-gi

I loooove dduk bok gi–whether it’s the spicy kind or the mild kind with bulgogi.  The chewy cylindrical rice cakes nestled amidst savory soy sauce seasoning, or hot sauce–both are wonderful and fun to eat.

My fondest food memories are comprised of walking through the streets of Seoul with my cousins or aunt and eating red hot dduk bok gi from food stands, bursting out with tortured laughter between bites and gulps of water.  The stuff can get REALLY hot!  And we love it that way.   We love it so much that one of my cousins theoretically gave herself digestive problems from eating dduk bok gi so often.  (She claimed she had an ulcer from dduk bok gi consumption).

for dduk-bok-gi

Of course there is the mild kind, too–with soy sauce marinade and bulgogi.   So delicious as well, but oh so different.  I first ate the mild ddukbokgi variant at my cousin’s house–I was surprised to see the rice cakes swimming in a sauce that was NOT red and bubbling, but I ate them ravenously, just the same.  Maybe I just love rice cakes.

Still, nothing tops the fiery red spicy dduk bok gi, the stuff that sets your mouth on fire, the stuff with just a hint of sweetness, the stuff that is reminiscent of the foodstands on the streets of Seoul.

Even today, I seek out spicy dduk-bok-gi, such a comfort food.  I’ll go to the Korean market and buy myself some, quickly down it for lunch (with a glass of water).  But you can make your own, too.

Recipe follows after the jump…

Dduk-bok-gi recipe

Dduk bok gi rice cakes
1 tsp sesame oil
2 dried shitake mushroom, soaked in warm water for about 30 minutes until softened
2 carrots
1/4 cucumber
1/4 lb. of bulgogi beef, thinly sliced
2 Tbsp vegetable oil
1/4 onion, finely sliced

for the seasoning (aka korean bbq marinade):
4 tbsp soy sauce
1 tbsp sugar
1/2 tsp ground white pepper
1 tbsp sesame oil
2 green onions, finely chopped
2 tbsp mirin or rice wine or vermouth
2 garlic cloves, crushed

1. Blanch the rice cake in salted boiling water for 2 seconds. Drain and rinse in cold water, then coat with sesame oil and set aside.

2. When the shitake mushrooms have reconstituted and become soft, drain and thinly slice them, discarding the stems.

3. Cut the carrot and cucumber into thin julienne strips.

4. Combine all the seasoning ingredients in a bowl. Add beef, coating it with the seasoning, leave to absorb for 15 minutes (or longer)

5. Coat a frying pan or wok with the vegetable oil and place over medium heat. When the pan is hot, add the beef and onion and seasoning mixture. Stir fry until the beef is browned and then add the mushrooms, rice cake, carrot, and cucumber.

6. Reduce the heat and cook until the liquid has formed a sticky glaze over the ingredients. Transfer to a shallow serving dish and serve.

For spicy dduk bok gi: use gochujang (Korean red hot chili paste) in the seasoning instead of soy sauce, and leave out the mushrooms…and try adding sliced fish cake instead of beef.

12 responses to “Dduk bok gi (or the ever boring sounding “stir-fried rice cake with vegetables”)

  1. One of my faves! I am too lazy to make it with all the veggies and the bulgogi, so I just simmer a little bit of water, add sogogi dashida, gochujang, and rice cakes and I am good to go. I’ve never had it the mild way, I should try it!

    My mom just called and told me that she was fixing dduk-guk on Sunday…she doesn’t really celebrate the Lunar New Year, so American New Year’s gonna have to do!

  2. i’m with you a.l.s. i am much too lazy for this recipe so i will have to find someone else to make it for me.

    btw, muffin top is the topic of the year.

    Helpful Hint: search yummy recipes from your mobile phone using Boopsie.

    http://www.boopsie.com

    perfect for recipes on the go.

  3. Hehe, I love traditional ddukboki but I love this too – though in our household, we usually call it ‘dduk bulgogi’ as we usually just toss some dduk in with bulgogi on the pan 🙂

  4. YUMMA! Talk about comforting snacky food.

    I’m currently making dduk for dduk gook tomorrow. In all honesty…it’s all about rice, no? 🙂

  5. That looks soooo good! Thanks for posting this recipe.

  6. I’m glad you like it–have a great time making and eating it. 🙂

  7. I’m also addicted to dduk. It’s a texture thing, I think!

  8. Quick quesiton: What is the serving size of this recipe?

  9. Thank you Christine. I made this last night. I don’t eat spicy food, so this version is perfect. The sauce was savory with a hint of sweetness. I love the chewy texture of the rice cakes. Great dish. I will be making this again soon.

  10. Pingback: Ddukbokki (Korean Stir Fry Rice Cake) | The Missing Lokness

  11. Pingback: The Missing Lokness | Ddukbokki (Korean Stir Fry Rice Cake)

Leave a comment